Toi Mai sets course for the future with new Co-Chairs

From 1 June 2023, Toi Mai will have two new Board Co-Chairs to continue driving positive changes within the vocational education and training system for our creative, cultural, recreation and technology sectors in Aotearoa.

Toi Mai is delighted to announce the appointment of new Board Co-Chairs, Dr Kathie Irwin and Alice Shearman, coming into effect from 1 June 2023.

Dr Kathie Irwin (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahungunu, Orkney Islands, Scotland, Ireland) is a third generation Māori educationist, who brings a powerful commitment to public service, social justice and kaupapa Māori. Alice Shearman has served on the Toi Mai Board since its inception and brings a wealth of experience in the screen sector as the Executive Director of the New Zealand Writers Guild. Together, Alice and Kathie have the strategic vision, dedication and commitment to take Toi Mai into the future.

We extend our heartfelt thanks to our outgoing Co-Chairs, Victoria Spackman and Annie Murray. Victoria has served as Co-Chair since the Board’s inception in July 2021 and throughout her tenure has been an extraordinary force in steering Toi Mai towards success, which she will continue to do as an ongoing Board member. Annie was a founding Board member of Toi Mai, and Co-Chair since September 2022 during which time she made an invaluable contribution to the Board.

We thank both Victoria and Annie for their dedicated leadership as Co-Chairs, and farewell Annie who steps down from Toi Mai on 16 June to take up the CEO role at Te Tumu Whakaata Taonga, the New Zealand Film Commission.

Toi Mai looks forward to working closely with Alice and Kathie as we continue to advance our shared goals and drive positive change.